# WBU Council Meeting - 2<sup>nd</sup> June 2024 @ 10:00

# **DRAFT Minutes**

- 1. Alan Screen (chairman), Ceri Pierce, Jean Cufley, Mia Deschepper, Gilly Clench, Simon Gottschalk, Andrea Knox, Roger Boyle, Steve Webb, Paul Cunningham, Fiona Noyce
- 2. Apologies Keith Edwards, Peter Milewski (received after the meeting)
- 3. Minutes of the Last Meeting accepted with amendments (Jean was not present but gave apologies)
- 4. Matters Arising

Regarding the motion to abolish/suspend the Council which was raised at last year's Council meeting by the Past president (Gilly Clench), Gilly commented that she only have suggested that the Council be abolished if there were going to be larger meetings to the WBU members 3 or 4 times a year – but this has not happened.

5. AGM Matters and Motions:

Motion to suspend Council

The background to the Council's purpose and this motion were discussed.

It was agreed that the motion would go forward to the AGM.

Paul commented that there is appetite to modify the structure of the WBU in the East Wales area and the constitution is constricting. It is hard to vote on one item in isolation and there should be more discussion.

Motion to change area eligibility

Agreed that the motion would go forward to the AGM.

6. Report from Management Committee

This was circulated in advance and accepted. Alan to present the report at the AGM.

Paul noted that there are two points to be celebrated – the Women's initiative and East Wales's success at Cardiff University to recruit juniors.

7. Appointment of Committees

### **Management Committee**

To consist of President, CEO, Treasurer, NTO and 4 Area delegates. It was noted that the MC may choose to invite others as appropriate.

#### **Finance Committee**

To consist of the WBU Treasurer and Area Treasurers or their delegates

#### **Tournament Committee**

To consist of the National Tournament Organiser plus Area Tournament Organisers

The following nominations were approved:

Laws and Ethics Committee - Paddy Murphy, Tony Disley, Andrea Knox

**Selection Committee -** Simon Richards, Simon Gottschalk, Tim Rees, Paul Denning, Paddy Murphy

Membership Secretary – Steve Webb

Masterpoints Secretary - Steve Webb

#### National Tournament Organiser – No nominations

It was noted that this is too big a job for one person and it should perhaps be an overseeing roles with a team looking at different types of events. There is very low attendance at our national tournaments – there is no widespread interest in competitive bridge – maybe 60 out of 1,200 members attend and alternatives should be considered. This is reflected in the NTO report to be presented at the AGM.

The outgoing NTO stated that he will continue to help until a replacement is found. The Council was grateful for his support and assurance of continued support.

Treasurer - Jean Cufley

**President** – Andrea Knox

Andrea will be invested at the start of the AGM and will take over the chair from Alan at that point, as there is no President currently in place.

## 8. Approval of honoraria and services

# Current payments:

Treasurer £1,200 (£300 from StepBridge)
Masterpoints Secretary £1,000
Membership Secretary £1,000
NTO £1,000
Webmaster £500
CEO Admin Services £12,500

Junior Co-ordinator £750

## 9. Date of Next Meeting

To be determined by the incoming management meeting.